Tegan and Sara Celebrate 10th Anniversary of The Con With The Con X: Covers And North American Tour

Out Today, Album Features 14 Artists Covering Songs from Acclaimed 2007 Album, Including Ruth B., Muna, Shura, Mykki Blanco, Pvris, Ryan Adams, City and Colour, Kelly Lee Owens, Bleachers, Hayley Williams of Paramore, Sara Bareilles, Shamir, Trashique (Grimes X Hana) and CHRVCHES

The Con X Covers Album cover
Spread the love

Tegan And Sara Perform The Con In Its Entirety On Headline Tour, Which Kicks Off Tonight With Sold-Out Show At San Diego’s Balboa Theatre

 Proceeds From The Con X: Covers And A Portion Of Ticket Sales Will Benefit The Tegan And Sara Foundation

October 20,2017 (Burbank, CA) – A decade ago, Tegan and Sara released the breakthrough album The Con.  Today, Warner Bros Records marked the 10th anniversary of the acclaimed work by releasing The Con X: Covers. The collection features 14 of Tegan and Sara’s favorite artists, each interpreting a song from the original album. See below for track listing.

Stream or download The Con X: Covers here:

Warner Bros. Records will be donating net album proceeds to the Tegan and Sara Foundation, which fights for economic justice, health and representation for LGBTQ girls and women.A portion of the proceeds from Tegan and Sara’s The Con X: Tour will also benefit the foundation.

Following their celebratory acoustic set last night at Amoeba Records in Hollywood, Tegan and Sara kick off The Con X: Tour this evening at the Balboa Theatre in San Diego. All seven West Coast dates are sold out, including tonight’s show and two evenings at the Theatre at Ace Hotel in Los Angeles (October 23 & 24). Limited tickets are available here for other markets, with the exception of Chicago, Toronto, Atlanta and Austin, which are already sold out. The North American headline run will feature Tegan and Sara performing The Con in its entirety. See below for itinerary.

The Con served as an introduction to Tegan and Sara for many fans, including HAYLEY WILLIAMS who discusses its impact on her in this clip:


Tegan and Sara (Photo credit: Lindsey Brynes)

Tegan and Sara co-produced The Con with Chris Walla, a founding member of Death Cab for Cutie. Both an artistic and commercial breakthrough, it was their fifth album and first release to chart on the Billboard 200. It also marked their first appearances on the Alternative Albums and Top Rock Albums charts. In the band’s native Canada, The Con peaked at No. 5 and was nominated for a Juno Award and a Polaris Music Prize.

Filter said, “The Con is a startlingly dark, yet characteristically vibrant offering, featuring a band that’s learned to harness the energy-highs, while tempering pretty (even pastoral) pop-folk with a new, deeply-affecting brand of melancholy.” Rolling Stone praised it as “uncommonly catchy” and Mojo said, “The Con rockets beyond even their own high standards.” Awarding the album five stars, The Guardian noted, “When your heart feels like a stone in your breast, The Con will prove a perfect, sweetly addictive companion.”

Twin sisters born in Canada, Tegan and Sara have sold over one million albums, and have received seven Gold certifications, one Double Platinum certification, three Juno Awards, two Polaris Prize nominations and a GRAMMY® nomination. They have performed on some of the world’s biggest stages, from the 2015 Oscar Telecast to major festivals, such as Coachella, Lollapalooza and Glastonbury. Their current album, Love You to Death, is the follow up to 2013’s Heartthrob, which contained “Closer” – a multi-format hit that has been certified Gold in the U.S. and Double Platinum in Canada. 

The Con X: Covers – Track Listing

  1. Ruth B. – I Was Married
  2. MUNA – Relief Next to Me
  3. Shura – The Con
  4. Mykki Blanco – Knife Going In
  5. PVRIS – Are You Ten Years Ago
  6. Ryan Adams – Back in Your Head
  7. City and Colour – Hop a Plane
  8. Kelly Lee Owens – Soil, Soil
  9. Bleachers – Burn Your Life Down
  10. Hayley Williams of Paramore – Nineteen
  11. Sara Bareilles – Floorplan
  12. Shamir – Like O, Like H
  13. Trashique (GRIMES X HANA) – Dark Come Soon
  14. CHVRCHES – Call it Off 

Digital Bonus Tracks

  1. Cyndi Lauper – Back in Your Head (Bonus Track)
  2. Bleached – One Second (Bonus Track)
  3. Vivek Shraya – I Take All the Blame (Bonus Track)
  4. Tegan and Sara – Miami Still (Bonus Track Demo) 

Purchase tickets for The Con X: Tour here

Learn more about the Tegan and Sara Foundation here
View Hayley Williams discussing The Con here

Follow Tegan and Sara:

Twitter: @teganandsara
Instagram: @teganandsara

Spread the love


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here