Spread the love

Last night, our friends at the Americana Music Association UK (AMA-UK) announced their nominees and special award recipients for their fourth annual UK Americana Awards, taking place during AmericanaFest UK 2019 on Jan. 29 – 31 in London.

The following are special award recipients that will be honored during the prestigious ceremony at London’s Hackney Empire on January 31.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Graham Nash

Selected by the AMA-UK board members, their highest honor is awarded to a UK artist, duo or group in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the Americana genre over the span of their career and life in music.

Trailblazer Award
Joe Boyd

Selected by the AMA-UK board members, this special award celebrates a UK artist, duo or group that has taken an exceptional path, inspiring others to follow in their footsteps in developing the Americana umbrella.

Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award
Curse of Lono

Selected by Bob Harris OBE, this special award celebrates the breakthrough artist, duo or group that has particularly impressed the legendary music broadcaster throughout the year.

Grass Roots Award
Immy Doman and Risa Tabatznik of The Green Note

Selected by the AMA-UK board members, this special award celebrates the sometimes unsung heroes of the UK Americana scene. It is presented to individuals working in the industry (in a capacity other than as artists) who have made outstanding efforts to support Americana music from the grass roots up.


Here are the nominees for the annually presented “Of the Year” awards which will be voted on by the AMA-UK membership.

UK Album of the Year

Shorebound by Ben Glover (produced by Neilson Hubbard and Ben Glover)

All On Red by Orphan Colours (produced by Steve Llewellyn, Fred Abbott and Rupert Christie)

Bennett Wilson Poole by Bennett Wilson Poole (produced by Tony Poole)

Treetop Flyers by Treetop Flyers (produced by Reid Morrison, Sam Beer and Laurie Sherman)

International Album of the Year

May Your Kindness Remain by Courtney Marie Andrews (produced by Mark Howard and Courtney Marie Andrews)

By The Way, I Forgive You by Brandi Carlile (produced by Dave Cobb and Shooter Jennings)

Ruins by First Aid Kit (produced by Tucker Martine)

The Tree of Forgiveness by John Prine (produced by Dave Cobb)

UK Song of the Year

“Uh-Huh” by Jade Bird (written by Jade Bird)

“Chicago” by Josienne Clarke and Ben Walker (written by Josienne Clarke)

“Southern Wind” by Dean Owens (written by Dean Owens and Will Kimbrough)

“Be More Kind” by Frank Turner (written by Frank Turner)

International Song of the Year

“The Joke” by Brandi Carlile (written by Brandi Carlile, Dave Cobb, Phil Hanseroth and Tim Hanseroth)

“Hold Your Head Up High” by Darlingside (written by Auyon Mukharji, Caitlin Canty and Donald Mitchell)

“Mockingbird” by Ruston Kelly (written by Ruston Kelly)

“Rolling On” by Israel Nash (written by Israel Nash)

UK Artist of the Year

Ethan Johns

Robert Plant

Bennett Wilson Poole

The Wandering Hearts

International Artist of the Year

Mary Gauthier

Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real

John Prine

Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats

UK Instrumentalist of the Year 

Martin Harley

CJ Hillman

Seth Lakeman

Gwenifer Raymond


Congratulations to all of the nominees!

How can I attend?

The UK Americana Awards are part of AmericanaFest UK, a three-day event similar to our AMERICANAFEST® stateside which will include a daytime conference with guest speakers Ray Benson from Asleep at the Wheel and John Oates, among others. This year’s keynote speaker will be Rhiannon Giddens.

There is also a two-night showcase festival featuring 48 artists playing in various venues around Hackney Central. Showcasing artists will include Birds of Chicago, Nicki Bluhm, Caleb Caudle, Mike Farris, Sam Lewis, Austin Lucas, Police Dog Hogan, Amy Speace, Caroline Spence, Wild Ponies and more.

For more information on the AMA-UK and to buy your pass to the upcoming event overseas, please click here.

Spread the love


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here