Album Review: Amilia K Spicer – ‘Wow and Flutter’

Spread the love

Some songs can be a vocal representation of ones’ memories.  They will conjure up shelved thoughts that once ran through the mind on a warm day late in the summer.  Well Amilia K Spicer’s new album due out later this month, is like that for sure.  Wow and Flutter is like a grainy celluloid playback of daydreams behind closed eyes.

That should not really be all that surprising for anyone who knows Spicer.  Having grown up in rural Pennsylvania, spending time in Austin, and moving to L.A. with aspirations to be a film director; this singer songwriter is bringing you into her life’s travels through a recollection of images.  Yes, that does not sound very special in the grand scheme of song writing, but for Spicer it is all in her approach.  The lead in track ‘Fill Me Up’ with its banjo rhythm, fiddle moan, and quickstep pace, layers a rich taste at all that has come to create this album.  That seems casual in its representation but is very well considered in its meandering nature.

Songs like ‘Shotgun’ and ‘Shake It Off’ take the listener through a purposeful journey that is very reminiscent of Cowboy Junkies pacing and, well, … the voice also has that velvet and breathy husk to it, too.  This album is about experiences, plain and simple.  The fact that its designing artist shed a life of piano to learn the guitar just to share it at a campfire session says a lot.  Those images stay with most regardless of how many times they are experienced!  Even though she is categorized as Folk, this is Folk without the associated fault.  This album is as organic as it gets but as the soil under one’s feet, extremely complex.

Spicer is taking all those experiences and memories and bringing them together for us all to hear in her new lingering daydream called Wow and Flutter.  Time never fully releases you from your past and from what I can tell, nor should it.

Wow and Flutter is due out April 28th via Free Range Records.  Spicer will be conducting a supporting radio tour through April, and then dates with American Folk Musician John Gorka this June.  Make sure you catch her at one of her show experiences near you.

Check it,


Wow and Flutter

Track Listing:

  1. Fill Me Up
  2. Harlan
  3. This Town
  4. Shotgun
  5. Lightning
  6. Train Wreck
  7. Shake It Off
  8. Windchill
  9. Down to the Bone
  10. Wild Horses
  11. What I’m Saying
  12. Shine

Spread the love
Previous articleMastodon Producer Shares His Guitar Tips
Next articleProduct Review: Ultimate Ears Pro Sound Tap
Shawn SixX is a self-proclaimed old school music fan first and foremost! It seems that ideal though has been lost in translation more often than not in today’s world of music journalism. Thankfully Shawn is making it his mission to report about the “feeling” of music more than your typical wiki-page bullet point run down. Imagine a long haired and tattooed Edgar Allen Poe meets Hunter S. Thompson and you should get it! Shawn got his start in the music industry as a radio producer and production assistant for the legendary WBCN 104.1 and 98.5 The Sports Hub in Boston and currently is a producer for CBS Radio Boston’s WZLX 100.7, WBMX 104.1, and AMP 103.3. He is also the creator and host of the nationally known “SixX Strings” music podcast/column featured on CBS Radio’s WZLX and WZLX.COM. Shawn’s work has been featured in, TEAMROCK.COM, and BLABBERMOUTH.COM. He has also been a contributing editorial columnist with AMP Magazine, Hails and Horns Magazine, New Noise Magazine, and held the nightlife and entertainment blogger duties for CBSBOSTON.COM. Even though he covers festivals and music events all over the country, Shawn currently resides and is based out of Massachusetts.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here