Lily & Madeleine Grow Up And Speak Out On New Album ‘Canterbury Girls,’ Out Feb. 22, 2019 On New West Records

Co-Produced By Daniel Tashian And Ian Fitchuk; Lead Track "Self Care" Available Now Via Rolling Stone

Spread the love

Lily and Madeleine Jurkiewicz, sisters better known as New West Records duo Lily & Madeleine, fearlessly explore — and explode — the conventions of 21st-century womanhood on the ten-track Canterbury Girls, due Feb. 22, 2019. Co-produced by Daniel Tashian and Ian Fitchuk (Kacey Musgraves’ Golden Hour), the record is named after Canterbury Park, located in the duo’s hometown of Indianapolis, IN, and a place that’s a breeding ground for these songs, all written or co-written by the sisters, which explore relationships, power imbalances, and the weight of expectation. 

Today (11.29), Rolling Stone has premiered lead track “Self Care,” calling it a harmonized “dreamy piano waltz.” Listen and share here:

Canterbury Girls was recorded in Nashville over a feverishly-inspired ten days with Tashian and Fitchuk. Lily and Madeleine — now age 21 and 23 respectively — recently relocated to New York City and worked separately and together on musical ideas, a process that allowed their individual styles to shine. While Canterbury Girls contains plenty of the duo’s signature ornate arrangements and stunning blood-harmony, the album also finds them exploring new sonic vistas and delivering goosebump-worthy musical moments with quiet authority. 

“This is the first record Lily and I have ever done where we have full control over all of the songwriting,” says Madeleine. “By the end, I felt like the songs had their own life; they had their own energy.  It was incredible to see them blossom so quickly.”

Despite Canterbury Girls’ understated veneer, the album’s lyrics are dense, vivid and intense. “Pachinko Song” gives voice to the feeling of being unable to escape another person’s gaze, even from halfway across the globe; and the deceptively breezy “Supernatural Sadness” confronts the pull of a toxic relationship.

Since the 2016 release of Keep It Together (New West Records), Lily & Madeleine have toured as a headlining act, opened for everyone from Dawes to Rodriguez, and in summer 2017, were invited to be backup singers on John Mellencamp’s Sad Clowns and Hillbillies Tour, joining him onstage every night to sing harmonies every night.  They will embark on an extensive headline tour in 2019 with dates to be announced soon.

‘Canterbury Girls’ tracklist:

  1. Self Care
  2. Supernatural Sadness
  3. Just Do It
  4. Canterbury Girls
  5. Bruises
  6. Pachinko Song
  7. Circles
  8. Can’t Help The Way I Feel
  9. Analog Love
  10. Go

Lily & Madeleine on the web:





Spread the love


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here