Ryman Auditorium
Courtesy of the Ryman Auditorium
Spread the love

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (Sept. 6, 2019) — Dan Auerbach, Andrew Bird, T Bone Burnett, Shawn Colvin, National Museum of African American Music President & CEO H. Beecher Hicks III, Joe Henry, Jack Ingram, Jim Lauderdale, Civil Rights Activist and “Freedom Rider” Ernest (Rip) Patton, Bonnie Raitt, Josh Ritter, Ketch Secor, Television News Anchor John Seigenthaler, Billy Strings, Tanya Tucker, Molly Tuttle and Joy Williams are on hand to present at the 18th Annual Americana Honors & Awards next Wednesday, September 11 at the Ryman Auditorium. The critically acclaimed program will be hosted by The Milk Carton Kids and will feature musical direction by Buddy Miller. In addition to being streamed live via NPR Music and broadcast via SiriusXM’s Outlaw Country, WMOT (89.5 FM), WRLT (100.1 FM) and WSM (650 AM), the show will also be taped for later broadcast on PBS as ACL Presents: The Americana 18th Annual Honors later this fall.

Previously announced performers for the Americana Honors & Awards include legends and fan favorites Brandi Carlile, Elvis Costello, Rhiannon Giddens, I’m With Her, Delbert McClinton, Lori McKenna, Maria Muldaur, John Prine, Amanda Shires and Mavis Staples, along with present-day buzz generators Jade Bird, Mark Erelli, Ruston Kelly, J.S. Ondara, Our Native Daughters, Erin Rae, The War and Treaty, Yola and special surprise guests.

“What a night this will be,” said Jed Hilly, Executive Director of the Americana Music Association, adding, “if there was a radar that tracked creativity, this gathering of talent in Nashville would be the brightest light on the planet!”

The Americana Honors & Awards is produced by the Americana Music Association and Two Talented Cats Entertainment. Hilly and Martin Fischer are executive producers, while Grant Alden and Michelle Aquilato are producers; Michael McNamara is the show director and Alden serves as the head writer.

For almost two decades, the prestigious ceremony has celebrated pioneering mainstays and trailblazing newcomers, while featuring unforgettable moments in musical history including Johnny Cash & June Carter Cash’s last live performance together, as well as offering show-stopping appearances by k.d. lang, Van Morrison, Bob Weir, George Strait, Don Henley, Bonnie Raitt, Gregg Allman, The Avett Brothers, Solomon Burke, Rosanne Cash, Civil Wars, Dr. John with Dan Auerbach, Patty Griffin, Levon Helm, Robert Plant and many more.

The ceremony is the hallmark event for the 20th annual AMERICANAFEST, held at various venues throughout Nashville next week, September 10-15.

Tickets for the Americana Honors & Awards are available for purchase online HERE through tonight, Friday, September 6 at 11:59 p.m. CT. A limited number of tickets will be made available for purchase in person on Wednesday, September 11 from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. at the AMERICANAFEST Registration Desk located inside The Westin Nashville (807 Clark Place, Nashville, TN 37203).

For more information, please visit www.americanamusic.org.

Spread the love


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here