Album Review: Take Me As I Am by Janet Robin

janet robin take me as i am album cover
Spread the love

Named as a “Top Acoustic Guitarist” by Guitar Player Magazine in 2017 and a “Top 10 Female Guitarist” by Guitar World Magazine in 2012, Janet Robin showcases her exceptional guitar skills on her October 2016 album release Take Me As I Am with John Carter Cash as executive producer and Chuck Turner as producer and engineer.

As stated in her website, “We have talked at great length about this project and he understands my desire and vision to record an album that is representative of the energy brought out in my live performances,” Robin says of John Carter Cash. “It’s just great to work with a producer that lets me be myself, yet brings out the best in my work. There weren’t many restraints working with John and the vibe and history at Cash Cabin is overwhelmingly inspiring. John seems to ‘get me.’” Cash produced her previous album Everything Has Changed at the Cash Cabin in Nashville, TN in 2012.

RELATED STORY:  Interview with Janet Robin – Part 1

Robin has an extensive music career beginning early on as a student of legendary Quiet Riot guitarist Randy Rhoads. She was a member of the all-female band Precious Metal and has toured with famed musicians Lindsey Buckingham, Heart, Colin Hay, Loudon Wainwright III and the Smithereens, all while building her own fan base. She has written and recorded several albums, recorded DVDs for Alfred Music, has numerous endorsements, continues to tour across the globe, and teaches professionally.

RELATED STORY: Interview with Janet Robin – Part 2

Take Me As I Am features ten “guitar-filled” songs highlighting Robin’s songwriting and guitar playing skills. She goes from heaving hitting guitar rock songs like “I’m A Rich Girl,” “Leave It To Me,” and “On My Feet Again” to more folk acoustic songs “Prelude to a Dream” and “Outlaw.” Guitar riff laden songs can be heard on “Take Me As I Am” and “World Cry.” For music lovers that enjoy hearing exceptional guitar work and a variety of music, this is the album for you.

Joining Robin on the album is a great line-up of musicians including Lynn Williams on drums, Mark Winchester on bass, Mike Webb on piano and B3 organ, Chuck Turner on percussion and additional drums, Anne McCue playing slide guitar on “Outlaw,” Anna Cristina, Shelly Fairchild, and Kat & Lula Maslich assisting with background vocals.

Take Me As I Am Track List:

  1. I’m A Rich Girl
  2. Leave It To Me
  3. On My Feet Again
  4. Prelude to A Dream
  5. Take Me As I Am
  6. World Cry
  7. Dancing Barefoot
  8. Can’t Have Me Now
  9. Ol Man
  10. Outlaw

Spread the love


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here